she…..

I thought I would begin my story with the first word of my 5-word autobiography, “she.” This “she” is me! “Who are you?” you may be asking. Well, I’m so glad you asked, because that is what I am going to begin telling you today.  I don’t plan to give you the whole shebang today, however!

My maiden name is Vicky Lynn Brandenburg. I was born in a very small hospital in Milan, Indiana on October 8, 1955. My parents were Alice Winniebee Ryker Brandenburg and Joseph Leroy Brandenburg of Osgood, Indiana.

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Brandenburg

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Brandenburg

Mom and dad had a quick romance of 3 months before tying the knot on December 20, 1954 (2 days after my future husband was born).

Side note:  It wasn’t until my early teen years that I found out that mom had been married once before to an abusive man, whom she divorced.  I have no other knowledge of him.  Probably just as well!  He really has no part in my history other than this little bit of being married to my mother for a very short time.

dad, mom and me at 1 month and 22 days old

dad, mom and me at 1 month and 22 days old

I was born 9 months and 18 days later!   This is one of the earliest pictures of me that I have, taken on November 30, 1955.  If I had to guess, I would say the picture was probably taken by mom and dad’s good friend, Marie Schmaltz.  Her husband (his name escapes me at the moment) was dad’s boss and owned a gas station in Osgood.  Dad pumped gas and did mechanic work there.

 

So, there you have it.  The first bit of history of “she.”  That would be ME!

Leave a Reply

