but God…..

1978
Tim was really growing spiritually. Looking back, I know my comment about not wanting to be a preacher’s wife weighed heavily on him, and even though the Lord was “still” dealing with him about surrendering to full time ministry, he never mentioned it to me or discussed it with me. It makes me sad to think about it. It makes me sad that I was not willing to live as a bold Christian.  BUT, I’m glad God didn’t give up on me or stop dealing with Tim because I was an immature, selfish, uncommitted Christian.

One Sunday morning on the way to church, Tim told me that he felt like the Lord was calling him to preach and that he was going to publicly make it known. I was ashamed that I was so backslidden that I didn’t even know that God was dealing with him. I turned my face to the window and cried silently and asked God to forgive me. I asked Him to help me be willing to be a pastor’s wife. He changed my heart right then and there! I realized that there was nothing else for me to do! Doing anything to hinder Tim’s decision was no longer an option! I would follow Tim and support him no matter where the Lord sent us!

That was 37 1/2 years ago.  I have not regretted one minute of our time in ministry!  I am so glad for God’s patience toward me.  I can’t think of any other place I would rather be than serving the Lord in one of His churches!  Have their been challenges?  Of course!  We are human and we serve humanity!  But the blessings and rewards far out weigh the challenges!

I’m looking forward to growing old with Tim as we work together for the Lord!

Leave a Reply

