family time

The Lord blessed us with a beautiful baby girl 36 years ago today; our first child, Jessica Ann.  She took her time about getting here, but once she decided she made a QUICK entrance with my labor beginning at 6 a.m. and her birth being timed at a little after 9 a.m.  I was not at the hospital very long when she was born.  A little too close for comfort for the first time!  But, I am so glad the Lord blessed me with easy labors and deliveries for all 4 of our children.

2 days old and 4 days old with her handsome and young daddy

Our lives have never been the same.  I am so thankful the Lord allowed me the privilege of being a mother!  It’s an even greater privilege to be a grandmother and have the opportunity to be an influence in their lives.  Our children enjoyed so much being able to spend time at my mom and dad’s house during the summer.  I glad they had an influence in their young lives!  I want to be a godly influence in the lives of my grandchildren, too!

We had our yearly Christmas get-together this weekend, beginning on Thursday evening.  I work so hard getting ready that I am totally exhausted by the time everyone leaves again.  But, it is so worth it to have the family time since we are so scattered out and don’t get to visit too often.

IMG_0238

Jessica and her beautiful family:  From left to right, Terry holding Araya, Thad, Chance, Michael and Jessica.

IMG_0227

Michael with his beautiful family:  Wife, Jessica and daughter, Kara.

IMG_0237

Elisabeth and her beautiful family:  From left to right, Brad, Ryan, Hannah, Abby and Elisabeth.

Unfortunately, Nathanael could not make it with his wife, Cheryl and daughter, Adalina.

This song came to mind while writing this post.  It is the closing song from the Carol Burnette show:

I’m so glad we had this time together

Just to have a laugh or sing a song

Seems we just get started

and before you know it

Comes the time we have to say, “So long.”

I am thankful to the Lord for every minutes he gives us together!

Leave a Reply

