HOPE is not one word

There are several different groups in social media that have their members choose “one word” for the year, beginning in January.  If you click on the following link, you can learn a little bit about one group:  One Word 365.  Essentially, you are getting rid of the “making resolutions” idea and choosing one word to “structure” your life around for the year.

That’s all well and good, I suppose, especially since none of the words I have ever seen have been negative words, but positive ones.  So, it can be a great thing!  However, there is One main factor that lots of people seem to forget about (or not have any thought of at all) and that is the sovereignty of God in our lives, ruling and working all things to accomplish His will.  So, someone’s chosen word for the year could end up just like most resolutions…..broken and forgotten about in less than 3 weeks into the year!

I discovered this “one word” thing last year and decided to “play” along.  But, I chose a word that fit what was happening in my life instead of choosing a word to make my life fit around.  My word for last year was “wait.”  Why?  Because of Tim’s cancer and the many different treatments he had been on that had not yet worked, we were still “waiting” for the right treatment to come along that God would use in the healing of his cancer.  We are still waiting for that to happen.  And we will continue to do so until it does happen!  We are trusting God that at some point in the future Tim will be cancer free!

That brings me to my word for 2016, Hope.  Not as in, “I hope God cures Tim in 2016” (which is true), but  HOPE, as in:

Having
Only
Positive
Expectation

This is faith, and Hebrews 11:6 tells me it is impossible to please God if I don’t have faith.  And, in my heart, I really want to please God, even though I don’t lots of the time.

Treatment 6 and 7, which are combined medications, have been working, for the most part in keeping new lumps from forming, except for a couple of stubborn ones that they finally radiated.  So, while I am still waiting for God’s cure, I have HOPE that this will be the year that Tim is pronounced CANCER FREE!

Here is a picture of Tim and I, taken at the church this evening.  I want to take a picture of the two of us every day this year.  That is my goal, anyway.

IMG_20160103_173852

Here’s to HOPE in 2016.

Leave a Reply

