Spilled Milk

I remembered something tonight that I hadn’t thought of in a very long time.  I think the Lord brought it to mind so that I would realize that I had never apologized to my brother and sister for the spanking we all received even though I was the one who deserved it.

I would have to say I was maybe 7 or 8 when this incident happened.  We lived in a big house that had a roof shaped like a barn, if you can picture what I mean.  This house was situated near some railroad tracks in Osgood, Indiana.  That bit of detail is neither here nor there to the story.

We had finished eating supper one evening, the only items I remember from the meal being mashed potatoes and a glass of milk.  The reason being that I was pouring myself some milk and something happened that some of the milk ended up in the mashed potatoes.  I don’t remember how much milk was spilled.  I don’t remember if I was even supposed to be getting more milk.  All I remember is the guilty part.  I had spilled the milk and didn’t mention it to mom.

Well, at this point, I am assuming mom got ready to clean off the table when she noticed the spilled milk.  When she asked, “who spilled the milk,” I did not admit that I was the guilty party.  If I had, I probably would have been made to clean up my mess and that would’ve been the end of it.  But, by not admitting that I was guilty, I was lying.  And, of course, my brother and sister denied having been the ones to do the dastardly deed.  But, because no one owned up to this sin, ALL 3 of us ended up getting a spanking.

So, I owe my brother and sister an apology and I need to ask their forgiveness.  How many of you figure they probably don’t even remember the incident?  My brother is 18 months younger than me, so that would make him 5 1/2 to 6 years old, probably.  My sister is 4 years 4 months younger than me, so that would make her about 3 years old at the time.  I am thinking I can be pretty sure that they do not remember the incident.  But that does not relieve me of my responsibility.

Matthew 18:15 says, “Moreover if thy brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone” and I believe this works both ways…..I’m the guilty party and I need to go and tell them my sin against them.

James 5:16 says, “Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed.”

Now, maybe after I make my confession, this verse will be true for me:  Psalm 19:12 “Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.” It’s no longer a secret!  I’m glad I can put this one to rest!  Forever!  😀

Leave a Reply

