Osteoporosis

I took the following information from the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases.

I learned today, after having a bone density test done on Tuesday, that I have severe osteoporosis. The following will help you understand more about this.

Bone Mineral Density Tests: What the Numbers Mean
What is a bone mineral density test?
  A bone mineral density (BMD) test measures calcium and other minerals in bone. Bones containing more minerals are denser, so they tend to be stronger and less likely to break.
  Bones can become less dense as we age or if we develop certain medical conditions. When too much bone is lost, osteoporosis can develop. Osteoporosis causes bones to become weak and brittle, which increases the risk of fractures (broken bones).

Bone mineral density testing can:

  • Identify and diagnose osteoporosis.
  • Measure the risk of fractures (broken bones).
  • Monitor the effectiveness of osteoporosis treatment.

What tests are used to measure bone mineral density?
The most common bone mineral density test is a central dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA or DEXA). DXA uses radiation to measure how much calcium and other minerals are in a specific area of your bone. Because the weak bones that tend to break most often are the hip and spine, DXA usually measures bone mineral density in these bones.

Other tests can also measure bone mineral density or bone loss:

  • Quantitative ultrasound (QUS) of the heel: Shows pictures of your bone and can predict your risk of broken bones and osteoporosis. But it is not used to monitor response to osteoporosis treatment, and it does not measure bone mineral density or give as much information as DXA. If the QUS shows that you have a higher risk of osteoporosis or broken bones, your doctor may recommend a central DXA test to confirm the finding.
  • Peripheral DXA: Measures bone mineral density, usually in the wrist and heel, using a portable device. This test does not give as much information as central DXA, so it is less accurate. Results showing a higher risk of broken bones or osteoporosis may need to be confirmed with a central DXA test.

What is a T-score?

If you are a woman in postmenopause or a man who is age 50 or older, your bone mineral density test result will be a T-score.

A T-score is the difference between your bone mineral density and 0, which is the bone mineral density of a healthy young adult.

The lower your T-score, the higher your risk of bone fracture.

The risk of broken bones increases by 1.5 to 2 times with each 1-point drop in the T-score.

I created this diagram from what I remembered of the diagram the doctor showed me today. My score, unfortunately, was off the chart at -3.6!

She told me the PT that I would be doing with her techs beginning in February were osteoporosis-friendly. And that they would work on my core strength. When she said that, I told her about the PT I had been doing for my back that was to strengthen my core and asked her if I could show her the exercises I have been doing so she could tell me if they were OK to continue doing. She said they were all OK. So, I won’t be surprised if the exercises in February are some of the same ones I am already doing. If so, I won’t need to attend many of those sessions, unless they include exercises for my neck problems I talked to her about that I feel might be causing some of my headaches.

She told me to be very careful of the way I bend over…..not from the waist, but using my legs. Also, she said I should not be lifting more than 5 lbs. for awhile! And to think I’ve been man-handling 40# dog food bags!

So, the first step is to get some lab work done to determine if I need to add supplements to my diet and to see if anything else is going on. Also, she wants me to get X-rays of my cervical spine (upper/neck, I think). I plan to go tomorrow to get these taken care of. She gave me papers that will allow me to do walk-ins (supposedly). From the addresses, these 2 buildings must be right next to each other in Kernersville! (GPS says 17 minutes away!) From those results she will determine what other testing I may need to have done. I plan to be on Labcorp’s door step when they open at 8 a.m. The X-rays will be at the hospital. I figure I might have a wait there!

Please continue to pray for my health and that all of this will be a help in the long run! I will keep you posted on results as I receive them! In the mean time I am claiming the promise in this verse, “…my God shall supply all (my) needs according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

Love to all,
Mom/Vicky

Leave a comment