Quick In, Quick Out

Last night was a rough night. I had an IBS “episode” (trust me, that’s all you need to know!) and it makes me nauseous, so I ended up in bed by about 7:45. Didn’t even feel like playing Rummikub with my sister. Plus I had a headache that just didn’t want to go away. It wasn’t a terrible headache, but since I wasn’t feeling well anyway, that just added to my not feeling well.

Normally when I have one of those episodes, I lay down for an hour or so and my stomach settles down and I usually end up getting back up for awhile. Not last night. I wasn’t able to go to sleep for quite awhile because I kept feeling nauseous and kept swallowing to keep from throwing up. When in actuality if I had just made myself throw up I probably would have felt better. But I just can’t do it! So I tossed and turned. Finally, around 11:42 (I looked at the clock) I got up one more time for the bathroom. Mark came to bed then and I finally fell asleep. I woke up at almost 5. Got up to use the bathroom and went back to bed. Catnapped until 6 when I got up to use the bathroom again. I laid back down, knowing full well that I was not going to go bak to sleep. Laid there until 6:22 and got up, got my shower, got dressed, fixed some coffee to take with me and a bottle of water, kissed Mark goodbye and headed out to get the needed labs and X-rays.

I drank the bottle of water (that’s a major accomplishment for me!) because I was fasting until after the labs (even though the Dr. told me it wasn’t necessary). I didn’t want my French vanilla creamer to spike my sugar right before I got the needle! I arrived before LabCorp opened at 8 and was second in line. By 8:30 I was in the hospital waiting room waiting on my turn for the X-rays. By 9:00 I was in the car and heading for home. I’m not a morning person, but I’m glad I went early to get this work done! Quick in and Quick out! And the buildings were right next to one another! Another plus! And, except for traffic, it only took 16 minutes per the GPS!

The testing done at LabCorp as requested from the Dr:

The lab took a couple of vials of blood from me today. The paperwork the doctor gave to me to give to the lab personnel showed that she wanted them to do a complete metabolic panel, TSH 3rd generation (“The thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) 3rd generation test is a blood test that measures the amount of thyroid stimulating hormone in the bloodstream. It is used to check for hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism.”), Vitamin D 25-hydroxy (“Vitamin D must go through several processes in your body before your body can use it. The first transformation occurs in the liver. Here, your body converts vitamin D to a chemical known as 25-hydroxyvitamin D, also called calcidiol.”).

The doctor also hand-wrote the following on the lab paperwork: PTH (parathyroid) 480160 (“PTH is an 84-amino-acid peptide hormone which is responsible for the regulation of serum calcium levels within a narrow range.). and SPEP (Protein Electrophoresis With Interpretation, Serum With Reflex to IFE, Serum, and Free κ and λ Light Chains, Serum) 123055 (“Detect and identify monoclonal immunoglobulin gammopathies. Diagnose myeloma, macroglobulinemia of Waldenström.”)

Myeloma, also called multiple myeloma, is a cancer of the plasma cells. Plasma cells are white blood cells that make antibodies that protect us from infection. In myeloma, the cells grow too much, crowding out normal cells in the bone marrow that make red blood cells, platelets, and other white blood cells.

Waldenström’s macroglobulinemia (WM) is an uncommon blood cell cancer that originates from malignant B-cells. It is a slow-growing type of non-Hodgkin lymphoma. Waldenström’s mostly forms in the bone marrow and can slow normal blood cell growth, which can lead to anemia and a weakened immune system.

The X-rays:

Photo from Spine Health.com – the pink area is what the X-rays were of today.

The technician took 6 different X-rays of my neck. One facing sideways (like shown in the picture), one facing head-on to the X-ray machine with my mouth open to get the very top of the cervical spine, and 4 others facing at different angles – 2 of them with my head turned to the left and right.

Since we hadn’t done so since probably back before Mark started taking Ozempic, I asked him if he wanted to go to the Wallburg diner to eat breakfast. By the time I got there I was wishing I had suggested stopping at Mickey D’s for an egg McMuffin instead! I ate less than half of my breakfast and brought the rest of it home.

I went to Ilene’s after we got back home. We played 3 games of Qwirkle before I came back home. My head was pounding and my back was hurting. I got home and turned the heating pad on, took some Tylenol and plopped down in the recliner. I’m sure the headache has a lot to do with the rainy weather we have been having and is driving my sinuses crazy!

Liz invited Mark and I to attend their home coming at RCS (Rockwell Christian School) in Rockwell tonight but I had to turn her down due to this crazy headache and my backache. Sorry, Liz! Maybe next time! Can’t wait to see the photos of Ryan and Alayna!

I will let you know as soon as I hear what the results of the tests are.

Have a great weekend!
Love to all,
MOM/Vicky

Leave a comment