Health Update

While I am feeling 95% better, I still have issues. My tongue still has a light white coating. I ordered a refill of the Nystatin Oral Suspension, USP today and sent a message to my primary care doctor to see if she has any concerns about the issue being ongoing after a week. I figure, since the refill was available, that she assumed it would take longer than a week to clear up. We will see how she responds.

Tomorrow is my first Osteoporosis PT session. It will be an hour long. I am curious to see how these exercises will differ from the core strengthening PT exercises for my back.

And, my primary care doctor had the Rehab Medicine doctor fax the DEXA (bone density) and other lab results to her. She gave me the following explanation for the test results:

“Your low bone density scores are the worst in your forearm. Although a fall on an outstretched hand is a very common means for wrist fracture (as you know) in women after menopause, we are mostly concerned about vertebral and hip fractures. A score of greater than -2.5 (mine was -3.6) is the technical breakpoint for diagnosing osteoporosis and you are simply flirting with that number in your spine and hips. Based off of something called the FRAX tool, you have a 10 year risk of hip fracture that is 3.3%, which is an indication to treat your osteoporosis (as is having a hip score of -2.5 anyway). However you and Dr. Hill (the Rehab doctor) decide to treat, it is my opinion that you should be treated and monitored on a yearly basis. Of note, your 10 year risk for any major osteoporotic fracture is 14% – just a fun fact! In regard to your vitamin D, calcium, and PTH (parathyroid). All are within the normal parameters and responding normally to one another. This means you don’t have parathyroid disease a secondary cause for bone mass loss. Also, you may see a section where they tested a number of “globulin” values. This is testing for something called multiple myeloma, which is another potential cause of bone loss. All of your numbers are perfect. All of that to say, you have thinning of your bones for no other reason than that you are a postmenopausal caucasian female who is genetically inclined! Please let me know if you have questions. Great seeing you! Dr. Lexi”

So, I guess the good news is that I’m not vitamin deficient. The bad news is that I have severe osteoporosis because I am an old, white female!

And, by the way, since I am “genetically inclined” that means that you, Jessica Jones and Elisabeth Palmer, are also genetically inclined! Dr. Lexi told me to make sure you take care of your bone health!

On other news, I was able to put my wedding rings back on for the first time on Sunday since I broke that wrist on October 21st!

I will still have to be aware of the swelling that still happens, however! But it was nice to be able to put them on!

Monday was lunch with Mark and Noah at Mamma Mia’s. I think I have told you before that Mark and I order their Chicken Philly Sub combo to split and order an extra drink. It only costs $13.35 during the week. We have ordered the same thing on the weekend and it costs $19+. Since Mark’s new diabetes medicine has cut his appetite exponentially, splitting the combo is plenty of food! And, actually, he eats most of the fries, usually! I don’t like the fries if they are too brown/crunchy!

Mark’s shop is just a few minutes from the restaurant. We can usually be back at his shop in about 45 minutes. On the way to the restaurant, we go by Sheetz. Well, on Monday when we passed Sheetz the price for Regular gas was $3.19 which was already up $0.20 from Sunday. Guess what it was when I took Mark and Noah back to the shop? They jacked the price up to $3.35 within that 45 minute span of time! I didn’t need gas. I had half of a tank. But, because I was curious, on the way home I went to the Kelly’s Marathon down the street from home……

Guess who filled up even though I didn’t need the gas? This girl…..even though I almost got blown away doing so…..literally…..

The wind-blown look is not my best look, LOL!

Tuesday I, once again, was able to take the widows to Damascus Baptist Church in Statesville for their monthly meeting! I haven’t done so since my fall last October as I just didn’t think my back would hold out for the hour trip there, sitting for 2 hours while there and then another hour traveling back home. Thank the Lord, I had no repercussions from the trip yesterday! And it was so wonderful to be able to see those sweet ladies again! The food was wonderful, as usual! The devotion was wonderful, as usual! And the new song we sang was wonderful! Juanita Wallace (the pastor’s wife) always see to it that the food and table is fixed with love for the widows. She had Pasta Fagioli soup, Caesar salad, breadsticks and someone made some yummy desserts. And each of the ladies got a little Valentine’s Day treat to take home.

Don’t those lovely flowers make you yearn for Spring?!

Linda’s devotion was taken from 1 Kings 17 where Elijah was sent to the widow at Zarephath and how the Lord provided for their needs daily because she willingly gave the last of her provisions sacrificially to Elijah first. And that is the theme behind the new song we sang:

It truly does pay to serve Jesus! No, life isn’t perfect. There are health problems. There are car problems. There are all manor of things that break down and have to be repaired. And sometimes the pathway seems dreary. But, one of these days, it will be worth it all…….

It Will Be Worth it All
by Esther Kerr Rusthoi (February 21, 1909 – April 8, 1962)

(1) Oft times the day seems long, our trials hard to bear,
We’re tempted to complain, to murmur and despair;
But Christ will soon appear to catch His Bride away,
All tears forever over in God’s eternal day.

(2) Sometimes the sky looks dark with not a ray of light,
We’re tossed and driven on , no human help in sight;
But there is one in heav’n who knows our deepest care,
Let Jesus solve your problem – just go to Him in pray’r.

(3) Life’s day will soon be o’er, all storms forever past,
We’ll cross the great divide, to glory, safe at last;
We’ll share the joys of heav’n – a harp, a home, a crown,
The tempter will be banished, we’ll lay our burden down.

Chorus
It will be worth it all when we see Jesus,
Life’s trials will seem so small when we see Christ;
One glimpse of His dear face all sorrow will erase,
So bravely run the race till we see Christ.

Love to all,
MOM/Vicky

Leave a comment